REVIEWS

Most reviews are from our Horizons and Sugar Bird VRBO sites

Peace, beauty and what a view! (Horizons Cottage) – Joyce D. February 2024
The place was just as described. It was totally comfortable and well-stocked with everything we needed. We were there as myself, my husband, our adult son and his girlfriend. We had a fabulous time, even with some rainy days, because the house was comfortable and the views from every room were breath-taking.

Amazing Stay (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Griffin P. December 2023
We loved our time at sugar bird cottage. We were there on our honeymoon and the location, view, and vibe of the house was outstanding. Jennifer was extremely helpful and prompt in answering all of our questions about the island and local places to eat or shop. The beaches were all pristine and easy to access. It was an amazing time and we’d highly recommend it!

Sugar Bird Cottage – Matt B. November 2023
Everything advertised is exactly as is….and it’s a stunning place to be! Wonderful property manager also.

Lovely Private Getaway (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Vivian H. September 2023
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this charming cottage. The wraparound porch hexagon nestled into the side of a hill with gorgeous views and a cozy living space, gave us a place to relax and rejuvenate in privacy. Hermit crabs with shells of many colors and sizes quickly scramble and hide when going up and down the steps. We hold many great memories from our stay at Sugar Bird ☀️

Great Second Stay (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Robert P. June 2023
Our second stay at Sugar Bird – as relaxing as the first, though no hurricane this time! Great spot

Vacation (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Judith B May 2023
This is the most magical place I have been in the USA. The pictures are nothing to compare to reality. The view from the kitchen and bedroom are amazing, words can not describe. Exclusive, quiet, clean and with everything you need. Towels, toiletries, beach equipment like chairs, snorkels, cooler etc… Every guess has left things like shampoo and sun screen. So you won’t have to worry about packing these things in your suitcase. The road to get there is curvy, ups and down hills so, if you suffer with motion sickness I recommend to take some Dramamine with you, I did and I was fine. The breeze you get from the ocean feels so good when sitting on the patio, the sound of the waves and, birds in the morning is so relaxing. If you are looking to relax and enjoy yourself, this is without doubt the place to be. Jennifer the owner, was great. Every time I had a question she was one message away and, replied very quickly. To be honest, I would it have been just as happy if I didn’t leave the house. The area is beautiful and has beautiful beaches and trails to walk. Close to Coral Bay local restaurants and only 20 min away from the port and local shops. You won’t regret a second. Enjoy!

Great House with Amazing Views! (Horizons Cottage) – Larissa J. May 2023
Horizons Cottage is awesome! This house is as advertised with plenty of space and spectacular views of John Folly’s Bay (and the British Virgin Islands in the distance) from both levels of house with lots of outdoor seating options. The picture window from the main bedroom downstairs was nothing short of breathtaking. Also, it was quiet. We heard the ocean 24 hours a day, crickets at night, and the gentle rustling of leaves (and palm fronds) from the breeze through nearby trees. The house was well stocked with all supplies, accessories, and linens any houseguest would need. Finally, a shout-out to the property manager who was a lifesaver! Not only was she friendly and responsive to all questions, she offered to drive (with us following in our rented Jeep) to the property on the first day. (We arrived near dark and would have easily gotten lost.) This was after she met us at one of the grocery stores and encouraged us to take our time buying whatever groceries we might want at the house. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Horizons cottage. We would definitely stay there again.

We Loved Sugar Bird Cottage – Katherine G. May 2023
We really loved our stay. The Coral Bay location was wonderful, but the views from the deck were the magic. Every morning and evening we would enjoy the vistas. Great beaches were nearby.
Both the owner, Jennifer, and her local manager were very responsive and helpful.
10 out of 10!

Breathtaking views (Horizons Cottage) – Sherri G. April 2023
Beautiful getaway!
My family had such a wonderful time in St John, and this house was perfect. Very clean and well kept. We had everything we needed!!
The communication with the property owner/manager was fantastic. She gave me a lot of info prior to trip and answered all my questions. I would definitely come back to this house again!

Horizons Cottage – Michael W. April 2023
Breathtaking views; great part of the island for home base; many great places to snorkel and hike nearby; the cottage is well designed and organized; would stay again.

Our Family Loved this Place!! (Horizons Cottage) – Katelyn M. March 2023
This property is all about the views. Super comfortable! We loved sitting outside and having our morning coffees. The breeze, ocean, and wind sounds made it tough to crawl out of bed because it kept putting my husband and I back to sleep. Has everything you need and very private. I can’t say enough good things about the stay. We will be back! 🙂

Island Paradise (Horizons Cottage) – Gina H. March 2023
We had a wonderful week at Horizons Cottage!! The house was perfect. The views from everywhere in the house are fabulous. We so enjoyed the deck for every meal, beautiful sunrises, star gazing, relaxing, watching hummingbirds / banana quits,……. We felt immersed in nature. Great sea breeze and sounds with open windows. We loved being in Coral Bay with no crowds or distractions. The location is great. Salt pond bay / blue cobblestone beach very close and offered great snorkeling, wildlife, hiking. Driving on island goes slow due to hills and curves but all beaches / bays within 15-30 min of a pretty drive of the house. We explored many for fantastic snorkeling. Jennifer provided wonderful information for enjoying the island .and was very easy to communicate with. House was well stocked and very clean. We didn’t eat inside one time (whether at the house, restaurant, or at the water) the whole week we were there! We can’t wait to go back! The only thing we needed was another week there!

Honey Moon Perfection! (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Shane A. March 2023
Right after we got married, we flew in and came to Sugar Bird. A dream come true! It was incredible, we loved every single detail! The location, the view, the windows, the conveniences provided, down to the cute hermit crab homes around it! The location was perfect on the island, we felt safe and comfy, with easy access to everywhere we drove to. Not only were there beach supplies offered, but even binoculars for the view! We loved the three levels of the structure, it felt like an adorable tree house to run around in. The huge bed was super cozy as well, big plus. The grill and outdoor shower was a nice touch as well. We really appreciated the binder with recommendations and any tips and tricks for the island, the TV was super nice, and we even enjoyed the radio CD player there. Bottom line, we were completely infatuated with every aspect of this place, a place we will always look back on and cherish from the first half of our honey moon!

Sugar Bird Cottage – Leslie M. March 2023
We got back in the wee hours yesterday morning, having thoroughly enjoyed our time on St. John, especially our stay at Sugar Bird.  What a lovely little cottage – awesome view, comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen, and lots of extras (thinking soldier crabs in particular – what a hoot they are!).  Snorkel gear was perfect – fins easily adjusted to my size 5 feet.  Had several questions of Dena and she was quick to respond.
Thank you for making your cottage available for rent.  We look forward to staying again down the road.
PS Loved the coffee maker – think we’ll get that model when our current Cusinart finally dies.

Sugar Bird Cottage – Kevin K. February 2023
As always, Amber and I absolutely loved staying at Sugar Bird the past few weeks. It is our home away from home. We met Dena while we were there and she is amazing. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay at your property.

Serenity and Sea View (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Joyce D. February 2023
Our stay was memorable in all good ways – a cute cozy house, nicely furnished, with the most incredible sea view! Our only bit of advice – the bed was tricky to get in and out of, though very comfortable once in.

Awesome (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Hayden M. February 2023
This was a great location. Wonderful communication and everything was perfect!

A Journey to Another Galaxy (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Heather P. January 2023
The view from the property is even better in person.
This is not Cape Cod or the Outer Banks. This is heaven.
No constant motor boats or airplanes overhead. Bring inexpensive dry goods in your carry on, buy some shrimp at the Calabash Market, and sit on the deck overlooking the beauty. Easy workable kitchen, an indoor shower with windows which overlook Coral Bay, and make an evening trip to Miss Lucy’s.
You are on the eastern end of the island, a 25 minute drive to the much nosier Cruz Bay. That’s good. All the north shore beaches are majestic. Great rental, great setting, great vacation, and, this is a review after the airlines lost our luggage en route. Rent a 4 wheel drive jeep, you’ll feel safer. A good co-pilot helps with driving on the left.

Sugar Bird Cottage – Alexandra H. January 2023
Great place to stay close to Coral Bay! Very quiet with amazing views. The host was very easy to communicate with. Highly recommend if you’re looking for a relaxing getaway.

Fun in the St. John Sun (Horizons Cottage) – Jeanne E. November 2022
Happy hour views from the deck.. spectacular!
Location perfect for Coral Bay!
Layout of home ideal for 4 adults!
Do not try to find it for the first time at night!

Hurricane Party (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Robert P. September 2022
Great stay out on the East end of St John. Had some considerable excitement with Hurricane Fiona, which hit us right at the end of the stay. Jennifer was super excellent at communicating with us during that period and with helping us extend our stay when the ferry and airport closed. In the end, we only ended up getting a couple of days of tropical storm conditions, and all was well.
As for the rest of the vacation and the cottage – spectacular. Just like the pictures show, only in 3D

Amazing Getaway! (Horizons Cottage) – Andrew M. August 2022
Horizons Cottage is a clean, updated, and well apportioned getaway nestled on a hill overlooking Johns Folly Bay. Sweeping panoramic views of the East End, southern BVI chain, and vibrant sea life makes this an ideal location to soak in the beauty of the islands. Calming trade winds fill the cottage throughout the day & night, keeping the temperature cool and comfortable. Close enough to the tranquil beaches of the north shore and the busy port in Cruz Bay yet far enough to provide a peaceful sanctuary, Horizons Cottage is the perfect island getaway!

Honeymoon (Horizons Cottage) – Kit C. June 2022
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon! It was the perfect quiet, secluded spot with amazing views!! If nothing else, the view alone makes this rental worth every penny! We had quite the stressful adventure traveling to St. John, but when we finally arrived and walked inside, we felt instant peace and comfort. We loved the personal touches with fresh flowers on the table, pictures of different locations on the island on the walls and a bookshelf full of great books. The rental is close to Salt Pond beach and Ram’s head hike. It is also close to restaurants, shopping, markets and Coral Bay. The owner was incredibly helpful and quick to respond with all the things we would need to know about traveling to St. John. We couldn’t have asked for a better place to spend our week on the island.

Sugar Bird CottageRichard Gotwals June 2022
Wow, where to start. This is a nice little cottage on a hillside with some really great views. It is secluded and quiet located only about 30ft from the end of the road. There is parking for really only one vehicle right next to the steps leading to Sugar Bird and enough room for a three-point turn to get back out.
There are three levels to Sugar Bird, upper level with kitchen, dining area, convertible futon couch/bed and coffee table and half bath. Rough sawn shiplap wood interior and tile floor with wicker and Caribbean inspired furnishings. The kitchen is small but well stocked with cooking utensils, plates and glasses. There is a coffee table, blender, toaster and microwave. Pretty well lighted and with a nice central ceiling fan it was comfortable without aircon.
There is a wrap-around walkway with lots of seating and views, great for surveying the bay with your favorite libation and partner. There is also a gas grill in pretty good repair, but I did have to use an external lighter to get it going. There is a locker with beach chairs, a beach cooler, fins, snorkel and mask and other beach gear. Next to the grill, is the stairway to the sleeping level and a tucked away outdoor shower.
The sleeping level has aircon, but we just used the shelf fan to let the surf noise from below put us to sleep. All tile floor again with rustic wood walls. This space is basically built around a really big (felt like at least a king) bed on a high platform. Drawers under it for storage. The full bath was very spacious with open views to the outside, but not to worry as no one within miles can see inside the way it is situated. The lowest area is actually the top of the concrete cistern with lounge chairs and much privacy.
We absolutely loved the place. This was our first time, but definitely not our last to visit. Best number of guests would be two. It is a little remote so you will drive at least a little way to everything. If you want quiet and secluded, it checks those boxes. There are a lot of stairs – 33 steps and two landings from the parking area to the wrap around deck. My wife and I are in our 60’s and fit and this was no problem. Loading the Jeep for the beach making several trips back and forth, you noticed. Like all of St. John, water is collected rainwater triple filtered and UV light treated so go knowing you will need to conserve water (shower with a friend?). I don’t know what if any changes Jennifer the new owner will make, but Sugar Bird is a real gem of a place now.

Fantastic (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Heidi S. June 2022
I know this island is still under repair from the hurricane that hit a while ago, but the island is still beautiful, the people are amazing, and this place was very peaceful. I would definitely rent this place again.

Sugar Bird Cottage – Rose R. – May 2022
Thank you Jennifer for everything! we thoroughly enjoyed our stay 🙂 till next time! 

Fantastic Cottage (Horizons Cottage) – Jared C. May 2022
We stayed here for 1 week, the manager met us at Cruz Bay and showed us the way to the cottage. The place was clean, secluded, with great views. Has a nice layout with living area and kitchen on the top floor and 2 br and 2ba in the floor below. It is very close to salt pond bay and the Lameshur bays. No A/C but the place stayed cool. Fast Wifi.
Only downsides: no washer/dryer, sounds from the wind can be quite loud at night.

Paradise! What a view (Sugar Bird Cottage) – Timothy H. May 2022
What a wonderful stay. The place was well equipped for our needs and offered a spectacular view! It felt like we were staying in a tree house…and it was amazing. You can’t beat the views from this property. Great spot for folks looking to refresh and recharge. Highly recommend!!

Stunning Views Everywhere (Horizons Cottage) – Susan D. April 2022
When we enter the house we were thrilled by the view from three sides of the house and couldn’t decide where to have our first happy hour on the wrap around deck which Overlooked a gorgeous day on the east side of the island near salt Pond. I highly recommend this place. Near miss Lucys and Coral Bay. Ideal if you wanna get away from crowds.

Horizons CottageScib Trista February 2022
Amazing stay on St. John thanks to this cottage

Sugar Bird CottageMike Podkin January 2022
A gem of a cottage! Well equipped, clean with great privacy and fantastic views. Perfect for a couple. Highly recommend.

Horizons CottageTerry BaughmanJune 21, 2021
We just got back from spending almost 2 weeks at Horizons Cottage. It is exactly as pictured on the www.horizonscottage.com website. Clean, well kept and no better views on St. John. It is on the Coral Bay side of the island, away from the crowds of Cruz Bay. But the island is small so you’re never far from anything. Our one condition in vacation houses is A/C in the bedroom. Sue (previous owner) convinced us it wasn’t needed and she was right. The breeze off the ocean is wonderful and was plenty to keep us comfortable. We’ve stayed all over St. John and have gone to all the beaches. We visited most of them again on this trip but we found ourselves spending most of our time on the deck of the house enjoying the view and reading. The three sided deck is the perfect place to find sun when you want, shade when you want, breeze when you want or escape from wind or rain when you want. One thing for sure right now is get a rental car (preferably a Jeep) as soon as you make your reservation. You’ll need it to get around the island because the roads are steep with sharp turns. There is more demand for Jeeps than those available so book early. Thank you Sue for sharing your little slice of paradise with us.

A Perfect Vacation Home (Sugar Bird Cottage)
Everything was better than described, but let me outline the highlights:
Although the bedroom cabin is equipped with AC, the trade winds were so delightful and constant you will never consider using it. You may discover a friendly lizard, but there were no insects in the house; the place is sealed up tight from the screens to the caulked construction seams.
Water pressure great; always hot water.
Excellent internet connection.
Bathrooms upstairs and downstairs.
The deck and the porch…OMG.
Location ideal for all activities especially accesses to the national park.
Very, very quiet. The very best night’s sleep.
If available, I will be returning.

Sweet Breezes and Spectacular Views (Horizons Cottage)
What an amazing stay we had at this place. Being urban dwellers we especially appreciated the outdoor decks on both floors that boasts quite an impressive view. The house itself is well equipped and nicely set up so we felt right at home. As someone who is averse to air conditioning the air circulation in this place is really wonderful that you do not need AC even in what they consider the hottest month here. I would highly recommend this place!

Horizons Cottage…Great getaway!
We had a great time at Great Horizons Cottage.. spotless clean.. all the amenities.. including beach gear! GREAT views.. 2-minute drive to Salt Pond.. gorgeous bay.. 10-minute drive to Coral bay— Was really nice to be on the Coral Bay side of the island versus busy Cruz Bay.
We had everything we needed for a great vacation. We would MOST definitely rent this cottage again.

Flawless. Wonderful. (Sugar Bird Cottage)
This is our fourth year on the island in November, and this is hands-down the best place we’ve ever stayed. The location is simply amazing, 180-degree views of the sea from the fabulous wrap-around porch with a generous breeze. Views from every window. A perfectly appointed cabin for two. My husband and I cooked at the cabin most nights, and the kitchen had everything we needed to make our quasi-foodie dinners. Non-stick pans (thank you for that, eggs are not my friend on regular pans), tongs, whisks, a huge selection of sharp knives, spatulas – you name it. We loved the spice rack, used a few pinches of things, left a few things behind for the next guests. The cabin is in great shape, super at keeping the bugs out. That’s huge for me, apparently, I’m delicious (left island last year with 89 bites; left island this year with four I got on the hike to Reef Bay). I could really just never say enough about the cabin. Anyhoo, long story short, we’ll never stay anywhere else on the island ever again.

Great View of BVI (Horizons Cottage)
This house has it all. Great accommodations for 2 couples, Great views. Great bathrooms. Great Kitchen and Living room and easy parking for a car.
I personally highly recommend this property.

As for the cottage (Sugar Bird Cottage)
It is delightful! We enjoy every minute here, whether in the cottage, hiking, snorkeling, or on the beaches💦! You have thoughtfully equipped the cottage with every detail one would need, including tiny needle & thread kits! Terrific cottage!

Completely Blown Away!! (Sugar Bird Cottage)
First off, I want to give the most helpful info to potential renters; For descriptions of the beauty in store for you, just read all the other reviews and multiply the stunning perfection by 100! And this is very important: There were no hidden surprises. Not with money, not with the property, not with the whole experience. This is a honeymooner’s/ adventurer’s/ privacy seeker’s paradise.. ALL the natural wonders of an island paradise are at your disposal (literally-we couldn’t have even dreamed of how true this is!!). Read the reviews…see anyone not totally blown away?? For those of you who want to hole-up for a week or two (especially honeymooners;)), this place would be perfect, but I challenge you to stay indoors for very long. We woke up our first morning and spent no less than 3 or 4 hours exploring and investigating the plants, creatures, and scenery…and that was just between the cabin and the car! Do yourself a favor and get the decent gear you need to explore every nook and cranny of this island: 4WD Jeep, mosquito spray, tight snorkel gear, well-fitted hiking shoes/sandals, GoPro, and your sense of wonder.

Horizons and Sugar Bird Cottages – MaryAnne Reyes-Mckenna – March 12, 2020
St. John is one of my absolute favorite places on earth!! Puerto Rico being the other! So very peaceful yet so very raucous!! Swimming , scubaing (is that a word?), sailing, relaxing, birds on my toes, turtles, rain, the friendliest people around. Can’t wait to go back!!

Horizons CottageJim Weitzel June 2019
Great views toward the BVI and an easterly wind that beats the heat. We stay here every year and like the quick access to the National Park bays as well as east end for great snorkeling. This villa has a well-appointed kitchen, dining room, indoor shower, and decks on both levels. Parking right in front with paved road access.

Horizons CottageWendy HarmanNovember 20, 2016
We just finished a delightful week at Horizon’s Cottage on Saint John, USVI. The cottage is in great shape and has wonderful views. It sleeps 4 very comfortably with 2 large bedrooms and 2 1/2 baths. Horizon’s cottage is ideally located if you enjoy snorkeling and hiking. The cottage comes equipped with snorkel gear if you don’t bring your own. We can’t wait to spend another week at Horizon’s cottage on Saint John.

Horizons CottageGary N Tammy ChambersApril 11, 2016
Love, love, love Horizons Cottage in St. John! We cannot wait to return!

Could not have been more perfect! (Horizons Cottage)
I had major surgery in March 2015 and after recoup I needed desperately to get away, go somewhere peaceful and beautiful both for my spirit and as my first trip as a healthy person again. Due to circumstances, the only dates I could travel was in August! I cannot tell you how hesitant I was, August heat, bugs, and on and on. When I heard Horizons did not have AC I had my reservations. and almost did not book. Thankfully I did! Horizons is built on the side of a mountain overlooking the sea with row upon row of open windows. The trade winds blew directly into the house 24/7 providing the most natural A/C I have ever experienced. Never a moment of discomfort, never a moment of regret. For those considering off-season rental, go for it! the island is quiet, the house is perfect, and the trades are blowing.


Contact info is below. Hope you choose to stay at our cottages, and enjoy beautiful St. John!
HorizonsUSVI@gmail.com and SugarbirdUSVI@gmail.com

Horizons Cottage and Sugar Bird Cottage
Coral Bay, St. John, US Virgin Islands
(661) 373-1983

Scroll to Top